CNCC presents awards to outstanding students, athletes

Listen to this post

RANGELY I The 32nd Annual Rangely Campus Honors Banquet was held April 15 in Colorado Northwestern Community College’s Weiss Colorado Room as students, faculty and staff and family members gathered to celebrate the honors several students received.
Rangely Campus outstanding freshman and sophomore students: Awarded to students with a 3.0 or higher grade point average (GPA) who have demonstrated outstanding scholastic performance, leadership qualities, service to the college/community and participation in student activities. These awards were presented by Dr. David Smith, vice president of instruction and student affairs, to: Courtney A. Hibbs, a freshman pursuing an associate of applied sciences (AAS) in equine studies and management; Wesley C. Benton, a freshman pursuing an AAS in aviation maintenance; Amber C. Parmley, a sophomore pursuing an AAS in equine studies and management; and Megan C. Raymond, a sophomore pursing an associate of arts (AA) degree.
The Presidential Outback Award is presented by CNCC President Russell George to a student who has demonstrated outstanding progress and effort in overcoming difficulties, excelled in their abilities and been an inspiration to others. This award went to Nyahok Bile, who is pursuing an AA degree.
Scholars by program: These awards were given to graduating students with a 3.0 or higher GPA who have been chosen by faculty in their areas of study for scholarship and scholastic ability, demonstrating outstanding qualities in leadership, community or college service, collegiate or professional organizational participation and working well with others. The various program directors presented the awards to: Alyssa M. Magalong for the arts and sciences; Megan C. Raymond for the arts and sciences; Anthony R. Manuppella for aviation maintenance; Peter U. Larralde for aviation technology; Samantha M. Barnes for dental hygiene; and Clay W. Crozier for equine studies.
Scholar Athletes: These awards were given to student athletes with a 3.0 or higher GPA who have been chosen by the coaching staff for outstanding athletic performance and leadership and scholastic achievement: Benjamin Wright in baseball; Brandon Pasker in men’s basketball; Jasmine Thomas in women’s basketball; Wade Grimshaw in men’s rodeo; Taylor Duzik in women’s rodeo; Sydnie Swenson in softball; and Lindsay Miles in volleyball.
The Rising Star Award
 was given by the State Student Advisory Council (SSAC) to a student who has demonstrated a high level of leadership and involvement in student activities. This student was recognized as a Rising Star at the SSAC Spring Luncheon. Presented by residence life coordinator Kayla Lighthizer to Jesse P. Anderson, who is pursuing an AAS degree in equine studies.
Students with 4.0 GPA
: This honor went to to degree-seeking students with 30 or more CNCC academic credit hours and a cumulative 4.0 GPA. Presented by Tresa England, dean of enrollment services/registrar, to: Brittany Babineaux, Sophie E. Messaros, Danielle L. Stonehouse, Clay W. Crozier, Shannon K. O’Connell, Sydnie Swenson, Owen N. Fairchild, Amber C. Parmley, Morgan N. VanWagoner, Emiliya Layef, Melanie M. Preston, James E. Zorn, Geneva L. Magill-Collins and Alyssa M. Reeves.
Students with a 4.0 GPA in “Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges.” These awards went to to students with 30 or more credit hours with a 3.0 or higher GPA who have shown high scholarship abilities, participation or leadership in extracurricular activities, citizenship/service, and potential for future achievement. Presented by England, the recognition went to: Merridy E. Abbott, Ashley M. Johnson, Taylor R. Nielsen, Jesse P. Anderson, Keila D. Krening, Amber C. Parmley, Joseph H. Carey, Katelyn A. Lewis, Betsy E. Sievers, 
Clint A. Chew, Molly K. Long, Mary J. Slack, Clay W. Crozier, Lindsay M. Miles, Jasmine D. Thomas, Zulma S. Fuller, Shelby M. Miles, Debbie Jo Yoder, Teisha Gross, Lacey J. Murray and Chelsie A. Young.
Phi Theta Kappa outgoing officers: To become a member of this national society for excellence in scholarship, students must have maintained a cumulative 3.5 or higher GPA. Presented by Garth Butcher, the Phi Theta Kappa advisor, to the 2012-2013 executive officers: president Jasmine D. Thomas, vice president Clay W. Crozier; secretary Megan C. Raymond and treasurer Heather D. Manley.
PTK All-USA Academic Team Leaders: Introduction by Garth Butcher, the PTK advisor. The distinction went to 
Alyssa M. Magalong and Megan C. Raymond.
Student Life Leadership Recognition: The awards went to students who have demonstrated leadership and dedication to their community, campus and fellow students by satisfactorily serving as a resident assistant or student government member. Graduating students are also awarded a leadership cord of red and black, the CNCC school colors, to be worn as part of commencement regalia. The CNCC community wishes to recognize these students for their representation of and commitment to the CNCC mission and vision, to: student government
president Devon Vondette,* vice president Jesse Anderson,* secretary Megan Raymond,* treasurer Amber Parmley,* sophomore representative James Donnellan, freshman representative Tasha Gibson, resident assistants Jesse Anderson,* Andrew Dihle,* Katie Lewis,* Amber Parmley,* Wesley Benton, Jessalyn Gingrich, Heather Manley,* Jasmine Thomas,* Joseph Carey,* Courtney Hibbs, D.J. McCall, Jaisha Webb, Clay Crozier,* Peter Larralde,* Kody Monigold and Amanda Witcher (* denotes graduating students).