Appointments to be made to county boards Jan. 28.

Listen to this post

RBC | This is the third article in a series reviewing the purpose and function of 10 panels to which the board of county commissioners (BOCC) will be making appointments at its regular Jan. 28 meeting. Each of the 10 boards have vacancies.

The BOCC urges anyone interested in appointment to any of the upcoming vacancies to complete the county’s application form and get it back to the county by Jan. 23. This application can be obtained from Laura Smith, Human Resources Director, at the courthouse, or online at the county website,, under “Government, Boards and Commissions.”

The board opportunities featured this week are the Historical Preservation Board, Planning Commission, Rangely Cemetery District Board and Weed Management Board. Previously, we described vacancies on the Building Board of Appeals, Citizens’ Review Panel, Columbine Park Board, Council on Aging Board, Fair Board and Fairgrounds Management Board.

Historic Preservation Board

The purpose of the Historic Preservation Board is to advise the BOCC on the protection and preservation of the county’s historic and cultural heritage. It is a five person, three-year term board which meets only as needed.

Current members are Brian Yaquinto of Rangely along with Janet Clark, Brian Conrado, Sandra Besseghini, and Chris Uphoff of Meeker. The terms of Clark and Yaquinto are now expiring, and Clark has said she is not seeking to re-up. Rio Blanco County Historical Society president Teresia Rose Reed has applied for appointment.

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission makes recommendations regarding the approval and conditions to the BOCC concerning land use applications and land use text amendments, land use planning regarding major impact reviews, major and minor subdivisions, single lot creations, as well as location and extent reviews. This commission meets as needed, typically the 2nd and 4th Thursday nights of the month

Three of the seven current members of the commission have terms expiring this month. They are Travis Day, current chair, and Sheryl Little-Myers of Meeker, and Rangely’s Adair Norman. Day was appointed to his first term in 2013. Norman and Little-Myers were first appointed to their three-year terms in 2016.

Lee Overton and County Surveyor/GIS Director Leif Joy have applied for appointment.

There is also an open position for which the term would expire in 2020. Current holdover members Ginny Love and John Scott, both of Meeker, are serving terms that will expire in 2020. Meeker’s Clint Chappell, whose current term will expire in 2021, has served since 2009. This board works primarily with county community development planning coordinator Rachel Gates.

Rangely Cemetery District

The Rangely Cemetery District Board makes recommendations for the operation of the Rangely Cemetery District.

Each of the three members are appointed to serve a six-year term. Currently there is a vacancy on this board for a six-year term that ends in 2025. Holdover members are Diane Sizemore and Sharon Brown. This board works with Rangely cemetery manager Matt Grenfell.

Weed Management Board

The 10 members of the county weed management board are appointed to three year staggered terms. In addition to the 10 appointed by the BOCC, the BLM, Colorado Parks and Wildlife and the county extension office have advisory seats on the board. The board provides advice on weed management within Rio Blanco County and makes recommendations for the Rio Blanco County Undesirable Plant Management Plan. The board meets as needed.

According to its bylaws, weed board members are to be residents of unincorporated Rio Blanco County and a majority must own 40 or more acres. They are also expected to possess practical knowledge of weed control.

Current weed board members, according to the county, are J.D. Amick, Hal Pearce, Mark Hafkenshiel, Dave Allen and Mike Lopez of the Meeker area, and René Harden of Rangely. The terms of Amick, Pearce and Hafkenshiel are expiring. There are also four additional vacancies currently. According to the county, Pearce and Hafkenshiel have applied for re-appointment, and Scott Robertson of Rangely, who has previously been a weed board member, has applied.

Matt Dupire, Terry Ivie and Carla Farrand now fill the BLM, CPW, and county extension advisory slots on the board. This board works primarily with county weed control supervisor Jane Turnburke.

To put in an application for one of the board appointments, complete  the county’s application at and return it to the Human Resources Department at the county courthouse, or email