Meeker Chamber elects new officers

Listen to this post

MEEKER I Nine candidates were on the ballot for the Meeker Chamber of Commerce, with five board seats available. According to executive director Katelin Cook, more than 100 ballots were returned.
Incumbents Cassie McGuire (current president), Michele Morgan (current vice president), Kim O’Connell (current treasurer), Joe Fennessy and Ann Marie Scritchfield, all ran for reelection, joined by Jim Ellis, Leif Joy, L.D. Grove and Jeannette Shepherd on the ballot for the two-year terms.
McGuire, who owns Parts City Auto Parts, was reelected, as was incumbent and local attorney Fennessy, and Scritchfield, who owns and operates Sable Mountain Outfitters.
“Our board has made a lot of progress in the past couple of years and I’m glad to be able to continue working in a positive direction for our businesses and our community,” McGuire said.
Leif Joy, owner of Joy Surveying and the county’s surveyor was voted onto the chamber board along with Jim Ellis, representing Atmos Energy.
The three incumbents and two new board members will join Katie Conrado (Meeker Sand and Gravel), Jeff Eskelson (Rocky Mountain Bowstrings and RBC commissioner elect), Wendy Gutierrez (Wendll’s Wondrous Things and Cuppa Joe @ Wendll’s), Diana Jones (Meeker Drugs) and Alicia Watt (Watt’s Ranch Market).
“I am proud of the progress the Meeker Chamber has made over the past couple years,” Cook said after the votes were counted. “We are a strong chamber who is taking the lead in many community-oriented programs and working diligently to strengthen the economic base of Meeker. Without a strong board of directors this wouldn’t be possible. I’m looking forward to working with Leif and Jim as our newest board members, and I know both of them will bring new energy and wisdom to our organization.”