Rangely, Meeker have full slate of folks seeking town offices

RBC I The filing deadline for nomination petitions to be turned in for the Meeker and Rangely town council elections was 5 p.m. on Monday, and there are enough candidates this year to have elections in both towns.
According to Meeker Town Clerk Lisa Cook, Mayor Regas Halandras filed his qualified petition for re-election to his second two-year term as mayor.

In addition, five individuals filed petitions for the three four-year terms open on the Meeker Town Board. These are incumbent Travis Day plus Jason Dunham, Wendy Gutierrez, Melissa Kindall and Chris Lockwood.
Current trustee John Strate is term limited and trustee Bryce Ducey has chosen not to run again.
In Rangely, something must have gotten into the water as there is a flood of candidates.
Rangely Town Clerk Lisa Piering reports incumbent council member Joe Nielsen has filed to run for the two-year term as mayor, to replace retiring Mayor Frank Huitt.
There are, in addition, 11 candidates who have filed for the three four-year term open seats on the council. They are John Bottelberghe, James Dillon, Clayton Gohr, Tyson Hacking, René Harden, Andy Key, Robert Kissling, Jane Miller, Sara Nielsen, Trey Robie and Beth Wiley.
The three openings are the result of Joe Nielsen running for mayor and current trustees Dan Eddy and Kristin Steele not running again.
In both towns, write-in candidates can also run.
In order for votes to be counted for a write-in, however, write-in candidates must file with their respective town offices by Monday Feb. 1. The council elections, which will be conducted all on mail-in ballots, are April 5.