Thorsby leads team to victory at WREA tourney

MEEKER — Twelve five-man teams and four women’s teams competed in the annual White River Electric Association’s invitational golf tournament last Friday at the Meeker Golf Course.
The teams are made up of locals and WREA suppliers from around the state, who play in the scramble format tournament after a dinner and auction the previous night. Proceeds benefit the local youth and high school golf programs.
Meeker local Mike Thorsby led his team to victory, shooting a 12-under-par 56 after 18 holes of play. Bryce Ducey, Matt Beck, Keith Dunbar and Jesse Hale were also on the championship team.
Thorsby’s team beat Mac McLennan’s team, which included Danny Garcia, Luis Hernandez, Pete Pearce and this reporter, by two stokes. McLennan’s team finished one shot ahead of Clint Chappell, Erik Brown, Bill Hurt, Bryan Ehrilich and Cade Neilsen.
Amanda Back and her teammates Dixie Massey, Peggy Back, Diane Crosthwaite and Tonya Morris won the women’s division with a two-under-par 66. A putt-off was needed to determine the runner-up.
Sally Shults sunk the winning putt, giving her team second place. Mindy Burke was the captain for Shults’ team, along with teammates Hallie Blunt, Connie Hughes and Tina Brown.
Shawn Luce, Christy Atwood, Deb Jordan, Annaliese Neumeier and Sue Dunbar finished third.