Commission to select nominees May 5

Listen to this post

RBC — The Ninth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet at the Glenwood Combined Courts, 109 Eighth St., Glenwood Springs, Colo., Monday, May 5 to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of district judge for the Ninth Judicial District (Garfield, Pitkin and Rio Blanco counties).
The new district court judgeship was created pursuant to House Bill 07-1054 and is effective July 1.
To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy,
an applicant must be a qualified elector of the Ninth Judicial District and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. The current annual salary for this position is $118,972.
The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent district judge, if retained by the voters, has a term of six years.
Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Allison H. Eid, 2 East 14th Ave., Denver, Colo., 80203; and the office of the district administrator, Solveig Olson, Rio Blanco County Courthouse, P.O. Box 1150, 555 Main St., Meeker, Colo., 81641 or call (970) 878-5622.
Applications are also available on the court’s home page
The original and seven copies of the application must be filed with the ex officio chair no later than 5 p.m. Friday, April 11.
Late applications will not be considered.
Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 5 p.m. Friday, April 4.
Applications will be kept confidential, except that the nominating commission shall disclose the names, work addresses, and work telephone numbers of those nominees submitted to the governor.
The members of the nominating commission for the Ninth Judicial District are: Terry Butler of Aspen, Robert B. Emerson of Carbondale, Katherine “Katie” Hays of Rifle, William
V. Hodges, III of Aspen, John Real of Glenwood Springs and Diana Watson of Meeker.
This commission currently has one vacancy which may be filled before the commission meets.