Meekerites demonstrate generosity again

courtesy photos (Above) Pictured are members of Friends of the FFA, Quentin Smith, Kaitlyn Cook, executive director of the Meeker Chamber of Commerce and Paul “Buckshot” Sheridan with members of the livestock judging team Stacey Fitzgibbons, Maclaine Shults, coach Clint Shults and Clay Carlson

MEEKER I More than 325 dinner tickets were sold to the After Birth Ball held on May 21. Thanks to all those in attendance, the Friends of the FFA raised nearly $11,000 from the dinner, the live and silent auctions and the “kids’ coupon table.

Because of your generous support, a local booster club called Friends of the FFA was able to present a check in the amount of $5,415 to those who will attend the 2011 Royal Highland International Judging contest to be held in Edinburgh, Scotland, from June 23-26, 2011. The resounding success of the After Birth Ball, combined with donations from numerous individuals and businesses throughout the state of Colorado, will allow Stacey Fitzgibbons, Maclaine Shults, Clay Carlson, coach Clint Shults and his wife Tera to attend this very prestigious event. Friends of the FFA would li

ke to thank the Meeker Chamber of Commerce and the local energy partners who co-sponsored the After Birth Ball for co-sponsoring this fun successful community-wide event. Thank you also, to those who attended and supported the event.Friends of the FFA also presented the Meeker FFA Agricultural Communications team a check in the amount of $2,500 to team members Kelcey Gross, Kaitlyn Dinwiddie and Maclaine Shults. Members not pictured are Caleb Dodds and Krysten Atchley. The team competed in and won the State CDE in Fort Collins on May 1, 2011, and will represent Colorado at the National FFA Convention held in I

ndianapolis, Ind., on Oct. 19-22, 2011. They will present to industry leaders from Fortune 500 companies from across the United States.Friends of the FFA were excited to present a check in the amount of $1,000 to those FFA members attending the state FFA convention May 31, which were FFA members Kelsie Gross, Torrie Gerloff, John Mac Sheridan, Kaylynn Dunham, Stacy Joos and Maclaine Shults.