Moon Lake Electric holds director nominations

RANGELY — Grant J. Earl, general manager/CEO of Moon Lake Electric, reported that the cooperative recently held two district nominating meetings to receive director candidate nominations for upcoming director elections.
In District 1, members nominated John Breakfield of Tabiona and incumbent Doug Holgate of Altonah. District 6 members nominated incumbent Tamara Vincent of Jensen. No other nominations were received by the cooperative.
Members in District 1 will be voting for the candidate of their choice to represent them
on Moon Lake’s seven-member board. Ballots will be mailed
to them on April 3, and
they can vote by mail or by attending the May 15 Annual Meeting of Members at Constitution Park in Roosevelt and voting in person.
In addition to being nominated at a district meeting, a member can also have their name placed on the ballot by submitting a petition, having at least 50 or more signatures of district members, to the cooperative prior to the close of business on March 13. Petition packets are available at Moon Lakeís Roosevelt office.
Earl stated that directors are elected for three-year terms and meet twice each month to transact the business of the cooperative. At these meetings they adopt policies, approve budgets, rates, operating rules and regulations.
Members needing clarification on the election process can call Moon Lake’s Roosevelt office at 722-5400.