Moon Lake holds election meeting

Grant J. Earl, general manager/CEO of Moon Lake Electric, reported that the cooperative recently held two district nominating meetings to receive director candidate nominations for upcoming director elections.
In District 2, members nominated incumbent Yordis Nielsen of Duchesne. In District 3, incumbent director Kent Olsen is nearing his last term on the board. At the nominating meeting, District 3 members nominated Stewart Olsen of Neola. In addition to being nominated at a district nominating meeting, a member can also have their name placed on the ballot by submitting a petition, having at least 50 or more signatures of district members, to the cooperative’s headquarters office at 800 West Hwy. 40 in Roosevelt prior to the close of business on April 19, 2012. Petition packets are available at Moon Lake’s Roosevelt Office.
In the event that no other candidates are received by petition, the cooperative bylaws state that if the nominating process results in only one district nominee for the position of director, such nominee shall be deemed elected by the members of the district, without the necessity of an election at an annual or special meeting of the members.
Earl stated that directors are elected for three-year terms and represent the entire membership on Moon Lake’s seven-member board. They typically meet once each month to transact the business of the cooperative, which includes adopting policies and approving budgets, rates, operating rules, and regulations.
Members needing clarification on the election process can call Moon Lake’s Roosevelt office at 722-5400.
All Moon Lake Electric members and their families are invited to attend the cooperative’s annual meeting of members, to be held on Thursday, June 7, at their new operations building on 800 West Hwy. 40 in Roosevelt beginning at 5 p.m.