Moon Lake nominates director candidates

Listen to this post

RANGELY — Grant Earl, general manager/CEO of Moon Lake Electric, reported that the cooperative recently held two district nominating meetings to receive director candidate nominations for upcoming director elections.
In District 2, members nominated Bill Muir, incumbent Yordis (Yogi) Nielsen, and Paul Tanner, all of Duchesne.
District 3 members nominated Jeremy Davenport of Neola, Clark Miller of Bennett, and incumbent Kent Olsen of Neola.
No other nominations were received.
Members in Districts 2 and 3 will be voting for the candidate of their choice to represent them on Moon Lake’s seven-member Board. Ballots will be mailed to them on April 23, and they can vote by mail or by attending the June 4 annual meeting of members at Constitution Park in Roosevelt and voting in person.
In addition to being nominated at a district meeting, a member can also have their name placed on the ballot by submitting a petition, having at least 50 or more signatures of district members, to the cooperative headquarters office in Roosevelt prior to the close of business on April 2. Petition packets are available at Moon Lake’s Roosevelt office.
Earl stated that directors are elected for three-year terms and meet twice each month to transact the business of the cooperative. At these meetings they adopt policies and approve budgets, rates, operating rules, and regulations.
Members needing clarification on the election process can call Moon Lake’s Roosevelt office at 722-5400.