New judge coming to RBC

Listen to this post

RBC I The Ninth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet at the Garfield County Courthouse on May 17 to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of district judge for the Ninth Judicial District (Garfield, Pitkin and Rio Blanco counties).
The new district court judgeship was created pursuant to House Bill 13-1035 and is effective July 1.
To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy, an applicant must be a qualified elector of the Ninth Judicial District and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. The current annual salary for this position is $128,598. The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent district judge, if retained by the voters, has a term of six years.
Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Gregory J. Hobbs, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203; and the office of the district administrator, Lynn Reed, 109 8th Street, Suite 104, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at
An electronic copy of the application in must be filed with the ex officio chair no later than 4 p.m. April 24. Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 4 p.m. April 10.
The members of the nominating commission for the Ninth Judicial District are: Julie Goldstein of Basalt; Sharon Day and Shirley (Anna) Smith of Meeker; Michael Sawyer of Glenwood Springs; Matthew Ferguson of Snowmass Village; and Katherine (Katie) Hays and Katherine Potter of Rifle.