Proposed congressional redistricting map splits CD3

Listen to this post

RBC I Following each 10-year census, congressional districts are redrawn so that each district represents an equal population. Last week, Colorado’s independent redistricting commission released a new map with proposed changes to the current congressional districts. 

The state currently has seven districts. An eighth district has been proposed on the Front Range to accommodate population growth, with additional changes to the Western Slope that would divide the 3rd District in half just below the Garfield County line, creating a 2nd District that would include all of Boulder, Broomfield, Grand, Jackson, Moffat, Rio Blanco and Routt counties. It also would include western Larimer County, north and western Garfield County, and parts of Summit County, including Breckenridge. The new 3rd District would encompass Mesa, Eagle and Pitkin counties, as well as the entire San Luis Valley and Pueblo. 

The proposed map puts 721,715 people in each district across the state. The proposed District 2 would pit current representatives Lauren Boebert (R-Rifle) against Joe Neguse of (D-Lafayette).  

Public hearings were held Thursday, Sept. 9 regarding proposed changes to Congressional District 2 and 3 in Grand Lake and Eagle, and virtually via Zoom. Written public comment can be submitted online at  

Eight of the 12 commissioners have to adopt the current plan or a variation on the plan after the public hearings, or go back to the drawing board to devise a second staff plan on Sept. 15, and if needed, a third staff plan to be released on Sept. 23. The redistricting plan adoption deadline is Sept. 28 with submission to the Colorado Supreme Court for review on Oct. 1.

Legislative maps for the State House and Senate will be released Sept. 13, followed by public hearings Sept. 17 and 18. 


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.