Cowboys to host WREA Shootout

Listen to this post

MEEKER I Meeker fans will have their first opportunity to view the 2010-2011 hometown men’s basketball team as the Cowboys host the White River Electric Cowboy Shootout. In its 11th year of sponsorship by White River Electric the Cowboys are hoping for a three-peat of the championship this year as they have won it back-to-back the previous two years.
Coach Klark Kindler’s Meeker Cowboys will start their tournament title defense on Thursday night at 7:30 against Shining Mountain Waldorf School. Last year, Meeker used the Shootout as a kickoff to an unbeaten regular season and its second straight league title. Meeker also opened last year’s tournament against the high school from Boulder en route to their title.
The tournament will begin on Thursday at 3 p.m. when the Cedaredge Bruins take on the Little Snake River Rattlers. Cedaredge is coached by 2003 MHS alum Kevin Dunbar who is in his first year at the reins of the Cedaredge program. Dunbar was a player for the Cowboys in the very first year of the WREA Shootouts. Meeker and Cedaredge are both on the same side of the bracket. Should both Cedaredge and Meeker have the same results in their opening game it could be a Cowboys vs. Bruins contest with Meekers’ veteran coach against one of his former players on Friday.
In addition to Meeker, Shining Mountain, Cedaredge, and Snake River, Rangely, Mancos, Hayden, and Grand Valley will also be in the competition. Friday’s contests will also start at 3 p.m. and continue for four games.
Saturday activities will begin for all the teams with a pancake breakfast sponsored by the Meeker Masonic Lodge. Fruita Activities Director Denny Squibb will be the featured speaker at the breakfast. Upon conclusion of the remarks by Squibb the tournament MVP and the all-tournament team will be announced. All teams will then proceed to the gym for the annual three-point and slam dunk contests. Tournament championship games will begin at 11 a.m. with tip-off of the seventh- and eighth-place game. The championship game is scheduled for a 3:30 p.m. tip-off.