EDITOR’S COLUMN: Three Branches

Our founding fathers established three branches of government: executive, legislative and judicial.

In a simplistic explanation, the legislative branch — the representatives elected by the people — determine laws that need to be made for the best and highest good of their constituents. The executive branch then has the power to uphold (or veto) those laws, and the judicial branch determines if laws passed are in compliance with the Constitution of the U.S. The judicial branch is charged with the task of interpreting the law and determining if those laws comply with the intent of the Constitution.

When laws are put in place that defy the rights we’re guaranteed as citizens of the United States, we have the right as citizens to take our governments to court and ask judges to decide if those laws violate our Constitutional rights. That’s the Grand Experiment we’ve inherited, and which has worked for more than two centuries. Our Constitution — by design — is a fluid and flexible legal document, designed to evolve and adapt to the needs of an ever-growing and changing constituency.

Let’s use the system as it was designed, for our benefit.

Change comes from within, not without. It comes from increased understanding and a change of perspective. If we want to influence our neighbors just to the east, we need to introduce them to our culture and customs, and we need to be open to theirs.

Just a thought.

By NIKI TURNER – editor@ht1885.com