MHS wrestlers host banquet

MEEKER | The Meeker High School wrestling team, which finished the 2017 season as the 2A Colorado state runners-up, recently held their annual banquet and many were honored for their accomplishments.
Much of the Cowboys’ success in the past four years, which includes a state championship in 2016 and a top three finish three other years, was because of the participation and leadership given by this year’s 10 seniors. Wrestling for the Cowboys as seniors this season were Caleb Bradford, Josh Cochran, Hunter Garcia, Ty Gibson, Sheridan Harvey, Tyler Ilgen, Cody Nielsen, Kasey Rosendahl, Chase Rule and Casey Turner.
Harvey, the Cowboys’ only individual state champion this year, finished the season with the best record (33-3) on the team and he was also named the team’s most valuable wrestler.
Seniors Casey Turner, Chase Rule and Tyler Ilgen also wrestled in the state championship match this year and all finished as runners-up. Turner, who was a three-time state finalist and state champion last year, was named the team’s most dedicated, and Rule was named the most improved by coaches.
Bradford, who placed fourth at state this year, finished the season with the most pins, winning 32 matches this season, 27 of them by pin fall and Gibson was given the most weight gained award.
Junior Garrett Frantz finished the season with the most escapes (22), classmate Jacob Pelloni had the most reversals (16), while sophomore Tannen Kennedy led the team with the most wins (37), the most takedowns (64), the most near falls (44) and the most technical falls (6).