Banquet concludes season for basketball team

Listen to this post

MEEKER — The 2008-09 Meeker High School boys basketball season concluded action March 14 when the Colorado State High School Activities Association presented them with the third place state trophy by virtue of their season’s work and final victory of the year over the Ignacio Bobcats in the Massari Arena at CSU-Pueblo. The final team activity for the year was the annual banquet prepared and hosted by the parents of the players.
MHS CowboyApproximately 60 parents, family and friends gathered to honor this year’s two outgoing seniors and the team for their accomplishments on the court. Master of ceremonies and outgoing senior Clinton “Weeg” Kilduff welcomed and thanked everyone for coming. After a potluck dinner prepared by the parents, a slide show recapping the season started the evening’s activities. Coach Klark Kindler commented on the season and then extended thank yous, including the school board, and the administration for their continued support and Dale Frisby for his attendance at games. He concluded his comments by thanking the community for “the tremendous support it showed all season.”
Awards were handed out to all 15 players. Each member of the team gained valuable varsity experience and all team members were awarded varsity letters. Coach Kindler commented on each of the players prior to handing out the awards.
Each year the banquet honors the outgoing seniors. Coach Kindler commented on the work and the play of both seniors in the program. Kindler then read an emotional paper written by Seth Boesch that summed up the season for the Cowboys and the two seniors. In concluding the ceremonies, Kilduff and Crowe thanked everyone for their support and attendance during the season.

Varsity letters:
Freshmen — Trey Morris, Lake Bullard
Sophomores — Trevor Matrisciano, Jake Nieslanik, Cole Steiner, Ryan Wix
Juniors — Tyrell Gerloff, Colton Brown, Mitch Jacob, Seth Boesch, Dakota Rowlett, Ever Olivas, Brock Campbell
Seniors — Clinton Kilduff, Brian Crowe

White River Electric Shootout Scholarship — Clinton Kilduff
Points Leader — Brian Crowe
Chairman of the Boards (Rebounds) — Colton Brown
Free Throw Percentage — Tyrel Gerloff (71 percent)
Assist Leader — Mitch Jacob
Coaches Awards — Cole Steiner, Jake Nieslanik

First team — Colton Brown, Tyrell Gerloff, Mitch Jacob, Brian Crowe
Honorable Mention — Brock Campbell

Other awards
Brian Crowe — Denver Post 2nd Team All-State, Colorado Preps 2nd Team All-State, N.W. League Player of the Year, Colorado Coaches Association All-State Game Selection, Yampa Valley Officials Association Sportsman of the Year Award
Mitch Jacob — State 2A All-tournament team, Colorado Preps 3rd Team All-State

In addition, Coach Klark Kindler has been selected to coach in the Colorado Coaches Association All-State Games with Brian Crowe. The annual games showcase the best high school talent in the State of Colorado. This year’s games will be held in Greeley at the UNC Campus on Saturday, June 13 with the preliminary games beginning at 8 a.m.