Meeker hosts nearly 300 peewee wrestlers

MEEKER — After a one-year hiatus, the Meeker Pee Wee Wrestling club hosted the Casey Turner Memorial tournament last Saturday, featuring more than 280 wrestlers from around the region, including more than 45 from Meeker and more than half placed in the top four.phsptpeeweewrestling3
Braydon Garcia, Colton Wille, Doak Mantle and Colt Lewis all won their second tournament of the season, in their respective weights. Kesston Hobbs, Fabian Jones and T.J. Shelton also won championships. Shelton, who has been wrestling with the Bad Dogs from Craig since last fall, won both brackets he was entered in. Shelton’s younger brother Jake was a runner-up in the two brackets he entered.
Cooper Main, Cole Rogers, Sheridan Harvey, Casey Turner, brothers Tristin and Jacob Pelloni, Caleb Bradford, Anthony Holland-Gonzales and Qynton Larson also finished as runners-up, in their respective weight classes.
Liam Deming, Kelton Turner, Jeffery Cole, Jesus Holland-Gonzales, Kale Burke, James Amick, Cody Nielsen, Dillon Frantz and Aaron Cochran all finished as consolation champs. Zagar Brown, Eli Newman, Logan Hughes and brothers Trea and Tannen Kennedy placed fourth in their brackets.
Zachary Chism, Elijah Deming, Tevin Pelloni, Kascia Cochran, Logan Rudkin, Garrett Frantz, Anna Castle, Austin Purcell, Austin Russell, Joshua Cochran, Robbie Jensen, Ruger Lewis, Jacob Henderson, Mat Niemietz, Tony Collins, Matt Frantz, Jake Rowland and Anthony Watt all competed, several winning a match before being eliminated.
Watt helped work a table during the morning session and entered the afternoon session with no practice and won one match before losing two.
Although Meeker’s pee wee season is over, there are still three optional youth tournaments local wrestlers can compete in and the high school wrestling room will be open every Tuesday and Thursday at 6 p.m. for them to practice and prepare.