New state law aims to replace faded license plates

Drivers will be paying a bit more to renew their license plates in 2022 thanks to a new state law that goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2022. The law (SB21-069) will require drivers to replace old license plates with new ones that are easier for law enforcement to read. The License Plate Expiration on Change of Ownership Act of 2021 (SB21-069) is designed to aid police efforts during Amber Alerts, or if law enforcement needs to read a vehicle’s license plate number in low-light situations to improve public safety. 

License plates are designed to be reflective, improving visibility for vehicles on the side of the road, but that reflectivity fades over time. According to the Colorado Department of Revenue, “on average, license plates lose 50 percent of their reflectivity within five to 10 years of use and the average age of motor vehicles in Colorado is six years.” 

The law (leg.colorado.gov/bills/sb21-069) only applies to plates for Class C personal property vehicles, including passenger cars, motorhomes and motorcycles. The bill does not affect personalized license plates, and renewals are required for change of ownership. 

Most Colorado drivers will see an additional expense of $4.73 to register vehicles, however those wishing to retain their current plates must pay a one-time fee between $68.06 and $118.06, depending on the license plate. The new law goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2022. 


Special to the Herald Times

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*